How to stay active in Ramadan

On 02 April 2022 by Droobi

blog9s.jpg

Not being able to eat or drink anything during the day can have an impact on your regular workout schedule. Whether you were exercising intensely before Ramadan, or just doing light cardio, you might have to adjust your exercise schedule.

 

Physical activity has an endless number of benefits, and in the case of diabetes, physical activity plays a critical role in helping control blood sugar. When your body moves more, it uses up free glucose in the blood and improves your body’s response to insulin. 

 

However, doing intense activity on an empty stomach and not being able to bring your blood sugar levels back up might cause complications, such as hypoglycemia. So the timing of your exercise during Ramadan becomes more important. 

 

Let’s start by splitting up your daily physical activity from your exercise routine. Your daily physical activity is any non-exercise physical activity you do in a day, like taking the stairs, walking, doing groceries, taking care of children. Your exercise routine is focused workouts aimed at increasing your fitness level, usually done at the gym or at home. 

 

Daily physical activity

Your normal daily physical activity can continue during Ramadan. It’s healthy to move your body during the day, whether you’re fasting or not. Everyday activities like walking, taking the stairs, washing the dishes, carrying the groceries, will not have a negative impact on your blood sugar levels. 

 

Exercise

When we talk about exercise, we’re referring to structured workout sessions that typically happen in a gym or exercise class. 

 

During Ramadan, you should keep all of your high-intensity exercises after the fasting period. Doing high-intensity exercise during your fast can lead to hypoglycemia during the fast. 

 

If you do want to do exercise during your fast, stick to low-intensity exercises, such as walking, cycling or rowing at a moderate pace. You don’t want to get out of breath while fasting, as the faster your heart works, the more energy your body is using, which means more blood sugar is being used up by your body.

مقال متميز

كيف تحافظ على نشاطك البدني في رمضان؟

في 02 أبريل 2022 دروبي

blog10.jpg

عدم القدرة على تناول الطعام أو الشراب خلال اليوم قد يؤثر على جدول التمرين المعتاد. سواءًا كنت تمارس الرياضة بشكل مكثف قبل رمضان، أو تمارس تمارين الكارديو الخفيفة، قد تضطر إلى تعديل جدول التمارين.

للنشاط البدني فوائد لا تحصى، وفي حالة مرض السكري، يلعب النشاط البدني دورًا أساسيا في المساعدة على التحكم في نسبة السكر في الدم. فعندما يتحرك جسمك أكثر ، فإنه يستهلك الجلوكوز الحر في الدم ويحسن استجابة جسمك للأنسولين.

إنما القيام بنشاط مكثف على معدة فارغة مع عدم القدرة على تناول الطعام لرفع مستويات السكر في الدم قد يسبب نقص السكر في الدم و ما يليه من مضاعفات. من هذا المنطلق، يوصى باختيار توقيت ممارسة الرياضة في رمضان بحذر.

لنبدأ بفصل نشاطك البدني اليومي عن روتين التمرينات. نشاطك البدني اليومي هو أي نشاط بدني غير رياضي تمارسه خلال اليوم، مثل صعود السلالم والمشي والتسوق في البقالة ورعاية الأطفال. أما روتين التمرين الخاص بك هو تمارين مركزة تهدف إلى زيادة مستوى لياقتك، وعادة ما تتم في النادي الرياضي أو حتى في المنزل.


النشاط البدني اليومي

يمكن أن يستمر نشاطك البدني اليومي المعتاد خلال شهر رمضان. من الصحي أن تحرك جسمك أثناء النهار، سواء كنت صائمًا أم لا. لن يكون للأنشطة اليومية مثل المشي وصعود السلم وغسل الأطباق وحمل البقالة تأثير سلبي على مستويات السكر في الدم.

ممارسة الرياضة

عندما نتحدث عن التمارين الرياضية  ، فإننا نشير إلى جلسات التمرين المنظمة التي تحدث عادةً في النادي الرياضي أو من خلال تدريبات خاصة.

خلال شهر رمضان ، يجب أن تؤجل جميع التمارين عالية الشدة الى بعد وقت الصيام.إذ  يمكن أن تؤدي ممارسة التمارين عالية الكثافة أثناء الصيام إلى حدوث نقص السكر في الدم.

إذا كنت تريد ممارسة الرياضة أثناء الصيام ، فالتزم بالتمارين منخفضة الشدة ، مثل المشي أو ركوب الدراجة أو التجديف بوتيرة معتدلة. لا تريد أن تنفث أنفاسك أثناء الصيام ، فكلما كان قلبك يعمل بشكل أسرع ، زادت كمية الطاقة التي يستخدمها جسمك ، و هذا يعني أن جسمك يستهلك المزيد من السكر في الدم.